Part 2: Mental Illness and it’s Stigma

There are very few people in my world that aren’t on some type of anti-depressant, suffer from some form of anxiety or are struggling some battle within themselves. It’s the world we live in these days. YET…

The media still paints a picture of people with mental illness as dangerous, violent and unpredictable. They are weak people who let fear control them.
The entertainment industry provides us with negative images and stereotypes as well. Making any protagonist that has mental issues as disturbed, dangerous and unlikeable – who want protagonist who is always feeling sorry for for themselves who can’t get their shit together. Thats not attractive.

Through taking anti-depressants I’ve managed to hide my issues from everyone including myself for years, I’d never let them see the things going on inside partially because of these assumptions about mental health, but all that did was leave me feeling ashamed, wrong to be feeling these things. Even my family at times made me feel invalid for feeling the way I felt.  I had disturbing thoughts I couldn’t articulate properly to others without having them look at me with confusion and perplexity and that left me feeling isolated and alone for most of my life.

It’s difficult for me to make friends, to be open with people, to find love, when I constantly fear they will judge me, see I have nothing to offer or just leave me – proving my thoughts right and just Reject or abandon me

Mental illness can be like one of those invasive vine plants.
starting out as a small seed, a single feeling, but then it grows, interweaving, threads it’s vines throughout you entire being. rapidly spreading. It wraps around your mind, heart, soul. ties you down. When we attempt to move it’s grip only tightens, becomes so strong it soon controls every part of us.

 Mental illnesses are health problems that affect the way we think about ourselves, relate to others, and interact with the world around us. They affect our thoughts, feelings, and behaviours. Mental illnesses can disrupt a person’s life or create challenges,

Click here for a website that helps to define the different types of mental illnesses

what I fall under is the category of personality disorders which are:

Personality disorders are patterns of thoughts, feelings, and behaviours that may last for a long time and create challenges in a person’s life. People who experience personality disorders may have difficulties developing healthy and satisfying relationships with others, managing their emotions well, avoiding harmful behaviour, and working toward important life goals. Personality disorders can affect the way people understand and view themselves and others and cope with problems. Borderline personality disorder is one example of a personality disorder.

http://www.cmha.ca/mental_health/mental-illness/#.VvxyimOMDVo

IMG_0886

Leave a Reply

